CMSC Awards Ceremony

CMSC Awards Ceremony

CMSC hosted their annual Awards Ceremony on April 17th, 2019.

CMSC recognized the following students and faculty for their outstanding contributions to the College of Medicine.

Maria Devens, Ph.D Memorial Award for Commitment to Student Wellness

Joseph Geraghty, MSTP

Abbas Hyderi, MD Leadership Award Recipients 

M1. Essie Ghafoor, Katherine Petrovich

M2. Jorge Rivera, Natasha Mehta

M3. Sarah Russel, Emily Green

M4. Dante Mesa, Savan Patel

Granville Bennett Award

Yu-Hui Huang, M4

COM Research Forum Gold Prize Recipient 

Eitan Katz, M2 

Tom C. Reeves Memorial Award

Ravand Samaeekia, M3

Golden Apple Award for Excellence in Medical Education

M1. Dr. John Groth

M2. Dr. Pavan Srivastava

M3. Dr. Fred Zar 

M4. Dr. Ananya Gangopadhyaya

Maurice F. Rabb, MD & Jose F. Pulido, MD Medical Student Teaching Award

Dr. Norman Lieska 

Frank T. Sparks Memorial Award for Excellence in Medical Education

Angelica Bevelle

C. Thomas Bombeck, MD Award for Excellence in Medical Education

Dr. Mahesh Patel

Ariana Melendez Award recognizing an Outstanding Student Organization

Chicago Street Medicine

COM Artists Body Electric Awardees

Art. Abdul Zakkar, MI, “Genetic Labyrinth”

Photography. Mohannad Sadafi, M1, “Prayer”

Literature. Victor Macrinici, M4,“Stranded in a World of Light”

SRFC Andrea Plaut Scholarship Recipient

Alexia Armenta, M4


Dr. Norman Lieska recieving the Medical Student Teaching Award

Ms. Jennifer Devens presented the Marian Devens Memorial Award to Joseph Geraghty:

COM Artists Body Electric Awardees:

CMSC thanks our outgoing board for all their hard work the past year!