Student Curricular Board

Welcome to the UICOM Student Curricular Board (SCB) Website!

The Student Curricular Board (SCB), formerly known as the Student Education Team (SET) and originally designed by Dean Hyderi and student leaders, is a unique student-led organization at UIC College of Medicine that allows medical students direct access and participation in curricular change. Designed initially to provide individual course feedback to faculty, SCB has worked to design a system that looks not only at individual courses, but also the interplay of courses within an academic year and across all years of medical training.

SCB is an organization operating in collaboration with the Chicago Medical Student Council (CMSC) and Office of Curricular Affairs (OCA). SCB’s primary role lies in curricular feedback, as members evaluate the clarity of course content and objectives, sequencing and design, teaching effectiveness, and appropriateness of assessment methods in addition to its new roles in curricular enhancement.

Becoming a member of SCB will serve as a unique learning opportunity for medical student leaders as they gain a thorough understanding of medical education and curriculum, how to handle various curricular issues, and ultimately become a better student and teacher.

If you are interested in learning more about SCB, or are from another institution seeking to adopt a similar structure, our SCB members would be happy to help! Check out our “SCB Executive Board” page for updated contact information for our SCB student leaders. Thanks!

SCB org flow

Current Members

Students are encouraged to reach out to their course representatives with feedback about the curriculum.

M1

Sneha Adusumilli sadusu3@uic.edu Blocks 3 and 6
Suffia Alvi salvi5@uic.edu Blocks 3 and 6
Jacqueline Kieltyka jkielt2@uic.edu Blocks 2, 5, and 1
Raj Patel rpate334@uic.edu Blocks 2, 5, and 1
Louis Darkwa ldarkw2@uic.edu Blocks 4 and 7
Sean Lai slai25@uic.edu Blocks 4 and 7
Margaret Kliebhan mkliebh2@uic.edu Synthesis (including Block 8)
Tarun Yandamuri tyanda2@uic.edu Synthesis (including Block 8)
Pal Shah palshah2@uic.edu Medical Colloquia
Ange Uwimana auwima2@uic.edu Medical Colloquia
Zayd Ahmed zahmed25@uic.edu DoCS & Transition to Clerkships
Lubna Ziauddin lziauddin2@uic.edu DoCS & Transition to Clerkships

M3

  • M3 Clinical Reps
    Salmah Abdulbaseer uabdul3@uic.edu
    Earl Chism echism2@uic.edu
    Joe Geraghty jgerag2@uic.edu
    Marina Lentskevich mlents2@uic.edu
    Joyce Liu yliu301@uic.edu
    Zoie Sheets zsheet2@uic.edu
    Taylor Tso ttso3@uic.edu
    Taylor Vandenberg tvande22@uic.edu
    Catherine Wang cwang257@uic.edu
    Cary Wright cwrigh37@uic.edu

M4

  • M4 Clerkship Reps
    Divya Singh dsing11@uic.edu Internal Medicine
    Natalie Meeder nmeede2@uic.edu Internal Medicine
    Rong Hu rhu7@uic.edu Pediatrics
    Airiel Bouie anelso46@uic.edu Surgery
    Leah Butler lnbutle2@uic.edu Obstetrics/Gynecology
    Katie Cushing kcushi2@uic.edu Psychiatry
    Brian Choi mchoi49@uic.edu Family Medicine
    Ajit Augustin aaugus6@uic.edu Neurology

Curricular Projects Team

Yash Bhatia ybhati2@uic.edu
Alex Zhang ayzhang2@uic.edu
Joyce Liu yliu301@uic.edu
Ryan Yang rryang3@uic.edu
Cary Wright cwrigh37@uic.edu
Taylor Tso ttso3@uic.edu
Katie Lee klee264@uic.edu
Anjeli Manam amanam2@uic.edu
Ruby Chien rchien3@uic.edu
Catherine Wang cwang257@uic.edu
Jinhee Kim jkim788@uic.edu
Raj Gurtatta rgurta2@uic.edu
Alondra Diaz adiaz55@uic.edu
Kevin Cao kcao4@uic.edu
Sofia Yunez syunez4@uic.edu
Xia Liu xliu258@uic.edu
Bingtao Xiang bxiang3@uic.edu
Elana Gordy egordy2@uic.edu

Executive Board

Congrats to the new SCB E-Board for Academic Year 2021-2022!

Head of SCB – David Lim

M1/M2 (Phase 1) Chair – Raj Patel

M3/M4 (Phase 2/3) Chair – Sophie Gough

Curricular Progress Chair – Ruby Chien, Sean Lai